President: Karin Kaminker - Vice-President: Carla Edelenbos - Secretary: Christina Giordano - Treasurer: Janet Weiler - Editor-in-chief: Alfred de Zayas

Société des écrivains des Nations Unies à Genève - United Nations Society of Writers, Geneva Sociedad de escritores de las Naciones Unidas, Ginebra

Press reviews

The United Nations Society of Writers is pleased to announce publication of Ex Tempore, Vol. 18, which this year includes contributions by 58 authors from the United Nations family. Ex Tempore, Vol. 19, is already in the planning stage and the Editorial Board invites you to submit your prose and poetry for publication. Essays, short stories, science fiction, humour, plays, poems, reflection or epigrams in any of the UN official languages may be forwarded in electronic form to

Who are we?

Ex Tempore is the literary journal published annually by the United Nations Society of Writers (UNSW)/ Societé des écrivains des Nations Unies (SENU) in Geneva. The society of writers was founded on 14 August 1989 by Sergio Chaves (Argentina), Leonor Sampaio (Brazil) and Alfred de Zayas (USA). 

Membership is open to active and retired staff of the United Nations, specialized agencies, CERN, Permanent Missions and Observer Missions, inter-governmental organisations, NGO’s and the press corps. We invite you to subscribe to Ex Tempore and support the Society of Writers of the UN Staff Socio-Cultural Commission. The membership fee is SFr. 40.— per year. Please send your generous donations directly to Ex Tempore’s account with the Union de Banque Suisse, branch office at the Palais des Nations, Geneva, account No. 279-CA 100.855.0.